Day 27 – Idaho Falls, ID to Richfield, UT

The drive to Richfield was pretty much unremarkable. We drove most of the way on I – 15 so the drive was easy and pretty quick. The speed limit in UT is 75. The road was very good except through the Salt Lake City area which had a lot of construction.

The scenery is quite a change from green farm land to brownish looking arid lands. We saw a lot of potato and alfalfa fields in ID. The area around Richfield is very arid and the hills and mountains are made up various color bands. It was raining and overcast as we arrived today and has rained a little more tonight. I’m sure they needed the rain.

We are going to stay here tomorrow and rest up, wash clothes, get the oil changed in mini and give it a bath. To say the car is dirty is a bold understatement! We are determined to finish out our trip but both of us are getting pretty road weary (Tom:Not me!). Tomorrow’s break is much needed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 27 – Idaho Falls, ID to Richfield, UT

  1. Pam says:

    Are y”all missing all of your critter friends? Glad you are going to take a day to rest and take care of mini too!

    • pwool says:

      Hi,

      Yes, we haven’t seen any for a few days. Tomorrow we might get to see some on the way down to Bryce Canyon Park.

      Got an email from Doyle about their trip. I figured we would be near each other at some point in our travels and they are staying about 60 miles from where Tom and I are tonight. Weird huh? Tom and I are in Richfield, UT and they are in Gunnison, UT. We drove through there yesterday.

      This part of the country is quite a bit different from what we are used to. It is arid but mountainous, too. The hills are all different colors and very beautiful.

      Love,

      Paul

  2. David Whitten says:

    Road weary? Why would you get road weary? Just admit it, you miss Texas. When I was on that Greyhound for a total of four straight days, I thought I would go insane. The road can surely get weary, particularly after all you have experienced. Actually, I don’t know how you have managed this long of a trip. I would be cranky and ill-tempered. Who am I kidding? I am that way sitting here at home.

    I would like to extend my thanks to you for entertaining me here in the confines of my air-conditioned apartment, particularly in Hades, Texas. If you stop by, I could throw a few fajitas on the sidewalk outside.

    Waiting on the wet side of a hurricane.

Leave a Reply

